Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

‘Apple and Rain’ was the first book I read by Sarah Crossan despite having ‘One’ on my bookshelf for about a year now. The one reason why I had yet to read ‘One’ was because it was a story told by poetry, and I’m not the biggest fan of poetry (it’s bad enough reading and analysing poetry in English, it’s even worse when it’s in your second language.) But after reading ‘Apple and Rain’ and hearing the brilliant reviews about ‘One’ I’m more than happy to give it a try.

Side note: Before I continue I just have to say that the cover is absolutely gorgeous, and I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t pick it up because of the beautiful cover.

Apple and Rain, is about a girl called Apple who lives with her Nan after her mum left eleven years ago, and in this book her mother returns with another daughter called Rain. Apple then decides to live with her and her life is turned upside down.

The main character; Apple is thirteen, which makes her quite a bit younger than a lot of protagonists from other YA character who tend to be around sixteen. I found this a refreshing change; a lot of things Apple does and says in the books are a reflection on what I was like at thirteen. Getting annoyed at your guardian for being overprotective and falling out with friends and feeling like it’s the end of the world is a thing a lot of thirteen year olds can relate to.

The female friendships I think were really well done and really reflect friendships in school; it’s very easy to feel like it’s the end of the world when we’re falling out. The friendships were also very realistic, Apple and her best friend (whose name I’ve completely forgotten) at the start of the novel don’t become best friends again, but that’s okay, in some friendships we just drift apart and that’s completely normal. I also liked the fact that due to our protagonist age friendships were significantly more important than relationships.

The only problem I found was with this book is that I found it hard to connect with Apple due to her being thirteen, and I wish that I had discovered this book a couple of years ago so that I could’ve connected with her more.

One thing that really stood out for me in this novel was the poetry, throughout the novel Apple writes poetry for her English assignments, for each assignment she will write one ‘real’ and one ‘fake’ poem, and the ‘real’ one will reflect what she’s going through and I found them all really touching. I loved the fact that despite everything she was going through she still had time to write poetry.

Overall I’d give this book 4 out of 5 stars, and I am definitely look forward to reading more of Sarah Crossan’s work in the future. Also side note if you are planning to read this book make sure that you have a lot of tissues ready.

Leave a Reply

