What’s a Girl Gotta Do by Holly Bourne

What’s a Girl Gotta Do by Holly Bourne

Ever since finishing the first two books in the Spinster trilogy by Holly Bourne I have been desperately been waiting for the newest and final instalment in the trilogy ‘What’s a Girl Gotta Do?’ However when I received a copy, I surprised everyone by not reading it straightaway because I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to the high expectations of the previous two installments; ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ and ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’

However my worries quickly disappeared after I started reading it; the novel follows Lottie who after she is sexually harassed decides to create a Vlog where she points out every bit of sexism she sees. The problem? Her month long project finishes just a week before her Cambridge interview.

Lottie was a character that I both admired and feared (Lottie isn’t the sort of person that I’d want to get on the wrong side of!) She’s ambitious and wants to make a difference and I admired that about her. Throughout the novel she experiences a lot of setbacks during the project such as trolls and an ex-boyfriend, but with the help of her friends she manages to carry on knowing that she’s slowly making an impact.

I really enjoyed this novel and it is probably my favourite out of the Spinster club trilogy, although I loved ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’ I did miss reading about Evie, Lottie and all the other characters, so I found it nice to return to college for the final installment. I also enjoyed seeing how all the characters had developed since the first book (especially Evie), which is why I would recommend you to read the entire trilogy as opposed to just this book.

However what makes this book so relatable is that Lottie has realistic worries such as living up to her parents’ expectations and underperforming in college. I found these worries very relatable and I know that a lot of readers like me can relate to them especially if they’ve just been to college or sixth-form. Again, I applaud Holly Bourne for her talent for creating relatable characters.

However if you haven’t read the other books in the series you can still read this book. Although it is recommended that you read the other books in the series first since that way you can also read Evie and Amber’s stories as told in ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ and ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’.

Overall I would rate this book 5/5 stars, I really enjoyed reading about Lottie’s journey and I thought that this was a perfect ending to the Spinster Club trilogy. However there will be another novella ‘And a Happy New Year?’ coming out later this year which will follow the three as they reunite after their first semester of university.

Are you going to hit the switch? Are you going to wait to change things, and accept a few casualties in the meantime? Or are you going to start changing things now?

Leave a Reply

