All American Girl: Ready or Not by Meg Cabot

All American Girl: Ready or Not by Meg Cabot

Hello everyone! I hope everyone has a great summer, and I hope that you are all ready to go back to university/ school/ work/ college soon. After reading a number of great books on holiday (namely Solitaire by Alice Oseman and What’s a Girl Gotta Do by Holly Bourne), I couldn’t help but like my holiday reading ended on a low after reading All American Girl: Ready or Not by Meg Cabot.

I love Meg Cabot books, and if I ever need a light hearted book to read hers I often finding myself choosing one of hers. (I’ll read Les Miserables when I’m not travelling in the early hours of the morning!) I mean who doesn’t love reading books where the main character finds out she’s a princess? However I found myself very disappointed after reading the sequel to All American Girl which seemed to be lacking in any form of plot.

It’s been a while since I read the first book All American Girl but I can remember it; who doesn’t love a book where the protagonist saves the president? However unlike the first novel there wasn’t a plot; the book itself is just about the main character debating on whether to have sex with her boyfriend FOR THE ENTIRE NOVEL. Either that or she’s complaining that she doesn’t get enough attention being the middle child with a popular older sister and genius younger sibling.

Although I was considering throwing this book out the window at some parts (although the fact that I was reading on the Kindle was stopping me). One aspect I really wished we could’ve read more about was Lucy and Harold, I would have loved to see some closure on that aspect on the novel. This was by far my favourite part of the novel and I loved how the popular girl who is used to getting whatever she wants has a crush on the guy who has no interest in her.

Another part I liked is when Lucy, Harold and Katherine stand up for Sam in the cafeteria after Kris calls Sam a slut and I enjoyed seeing Kris get what she deserved, plus it made me like Lucy a bit more as she was putting her reputation on the line to stick up for her sister.

Overall I’d give it 2/5 due to the fact that sex is all Sam talks about (if there had been another storyline going on during the book this would have made it bearable). Although I did like reading about Lucy and Harold. Unlike Meg Cabot’s other books which are generally tween friendly I wouldn’t recommend it to the younger end of YA.

Leave a Reply

