Agent 21: Reloaded by Chris Ryan

Agent 21: Reloaded isn’t the type of book I normally pick up on my visits to my library. But since the YA section in my library isn’t very big, I decided to step out of my comfort zone and get Agent 21.

Whilst reading this book I was reminded of the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz that I read when I was younger (although I’m excited for the new book in series to come out next year)! My first realization when reading this book was that I was reading the sequel to Agent 21 (hopefully I can get round to reading Agent 21 in the future) but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the book.

I really liked all the characters in this novel; Zak is the protagonist and he’s a secret agent sent on a deadly mission, however unlike the prior novel this time he is being sent alone. I thought this was interesting, since although I loved the interaction between Rafael, Gabby and Zak, I found his interactions with Bea were some of the best scenes in the book. Bea was possibly one of my favourite characters and she has a tendency to talk too much when she’s nervous, which I can relate to!

Although I loved reading about Zak’s adventures, I did enjoy reading about his cousin and how her life has been turned upside down. I found it easier to relate to Ellie (and I also sometimes struggled to keep up with all the action in Zak’s scenes). Sadly since this book is about Agent 21 the main focus is of course on Zak, with Ellie being a supporting character but I hope we see more of her in the future novels!

I thought it was a really good idea to have the story split into two different missions, because it portrayed how different Zak’s life is compared to Ellie’s, also I really liked reading how each of them coped in life-threatening situations as Zak has obviously been trained whereas Ellie has not.

Overall I’d rate this book 4/5 stars and if you love books with a lot of suspense then this book is definitely for you. Although I’d read the first book before reading the sequel if I was you! However if you cannot get a copy of the first book then as far as sequels go this is a pretty self-contained sequel that doesn’t necessarily require you to read the first book.

Leave a Reply

