How Hard Can Love be? By Holly Bourne

How Hard Can Love Be? By Holly Bourne

Situations not destined to fail:

Me + How Hard Can Love Be?

When I finished ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ I simply had to start reading the sequel ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’ As soon as possible. Although I was initially disappointed that this novel wasn’t about Evie (the protagonist in ‘Am I Normal Yet?) my disappointment soon faded when I discovered that Amber (one of Evie’s best friends) was the protagonist of this novel.

I had my reservations about this book, and I was a bit worried that it wouldn’t live up to my possible high expectations, but I was proved wrong. I enjoyed reading Amber’s journey to an American summer camp in the hopes that she will reconnect with her mother, and I enjoyed meeting the new characters in this novel. I hope that they will make a cameo later in the series (maybe a Skype call or something?) although that might be difficult since they live on the other side of the ocean.

Like Evie, Amber has her own problems: two years ago her alcoholic mother left her to go to America and she was left back in the UK with her dad, step mum and stepbrother. All Amber wants at the beginning of the novel is to rekindle her relationship with her mother, which doesn’t entirely go to plan.  I felt like this nicely tied in with the title of the book; ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’ Sometimes love; family love and falling in love isn’t easy or straightforward.

I liked Kyle (the main love interest), and I thought he was a great character. But I felt like their relationship was a bit rushed considering they had only known each other for a month, especially when they are declaring their love for each other after a month…

I also liked the interactions between Amber and everyone else (especially when they are talking about English stereotypes! I laughed so much when a little kind asked Amber if she’d met the queen!) I also liked reading about Winnie’s philosophy on Winnie the Pooh;

“Pooh lives in the moment. He doesn’t fret about the past, or freak about the future. He’s an expert at mindfulness.”

As much as I loved this book, I was a bit saddened by the absence of Lottie and Evie in the novel, they do make appearances in the form of cameos (and so do cheesy puffs)! However I still missed them when reading this novel.

Finally, I normally don’t tweet when reading a book. However, this book was so good I couldn’t read it without tweeting about it; from the American slang (I’m going to find a way to slip the word Podunk* into everyday conversations) to the Harry Potter references. I simply had to tweet about it and show everyone how much I enjoyed this book.

“I learned a lesson not to judge people, until you’ve found out whether or not they’ve read Harry Potter.”

Overall I would give this book 4.5, I didn’t enjoy it as much as ‘Am I Normal Yet’ but I still enjoyed reading about Amber’s story. Now I just need to buy ‘What’s a Girl Gotta Do’ the next book in the series, which is written from Lottie’s perspective.

*Podunk: A small insignificant village or town

Leave a Reply

