The List by Siobhan Vivian

Hey everyone! So exams are finally over and I can get back to updating frequently. Also I’d like to catch up on all the blog posts I’ve missed so stay tuned for lots of updates!

Before I begin the review I have a confession to make, I quite frequently tend to buy books based on their cover. I simply can’t say no to a book with a lovely cover, despite the fact that I’m always telling myself not to judge a book by it’s a cover. This was the case for the List by Siobhan Vivian which I couldn’t resist buying because of the lovely cover.

The story is about a high school where every year there is a list which declares the ugliest and prettiest girl in each year. The novel then follows the lives of the girls featured on this list, which brings me to my main problem with this book: the multiple points of views. If you have followed this blog for a while you probably already know that I’m not a big fan of books with multiple points of view. Normally if a book has more than two points of view I lose interest, so the fact that this book had not one, not two but eight points of view really annoyed me. I can barely keep track of one character, how am I supposed to keep track of eight?!

Honestly half the time I wasn’t even sure if the character I was reading about was on the pretty or the ugly list, and quite honestly I didn’t particularly care (in my defence eight characters are a lot to keep track of). I did however enjoy reading Bridgette, Candace and Dan’s POV. But they were all high school stereotypes, the ‘smart’ one, the ‘jock’ and so on…

I think if the story had focused on two of the main characters (maybe just the two seniors?) then I would have enjoyed it much more, but there were too many things going on at the same time and it was hard to keep track of what was going on.

I also disliked how open ended the end was, the book ends after the homecoming dance, where traditionally the girl who has been nominated the ‘prettiest’ senior is homecoming queen. But does anyone actually solve their problems in this book? Does Bridgette get her act together and start eating? Does Abby realise that grades are more important than looks? I personally thought that there were way too many unanswered questions at the end of the book and we didn’t get any closure.

Also at the end of the book it is revealed who wrote the list, and while this was a surprising twist I felt like it came out of nowhere, I would’ve preferred it if we had a few hints so we could guess who it was throughout the novel…

Overall I’d give this 2/5 but if you like a cute and fluffy YA contemporary then this book may be for you! If you aren’t a fan of cliff hangers and books with no closure then you may want to give this one a miss…

Leave a Reply

