The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Hey everyone, and sorry for the lack of updates last week, I had just got back to Uni. Anyway I won’t bore you with excuses; this week the book I’m going to review is ‘the Duff’ by Kody Keplinger. FYI, DUFF stands for designated ugly fat friend.

Firstly, I’d like to say that considering this book was written by a teenager (who is around 18 or 19) at a guess, I’m very impressed. I could never write a novel like that so kudos to the author!

If you recognise the title it is probably because it has recently been made into a film of the same title starring Mae Whitman and Bella Thorne, however despite the fact that I really enjoyed the film it is nothing like the book. Seriously, it has the same title but that’s about it, and Bella Thorne’s character doesn’t even exist in the book, yet she plays a huge part in the film which makes no sense at all…

One thing that particularly irked me about this book was the main character: Bianca. At the beginning of the book she complains and she is really judgemental of Wesley who she considers a man-whore. However less than a hundred pages after this, she ends up sleeping with him to escape from her problems, hypocritical much?

I also kind of hate the fact that she uses sex as escapism, well I mainly hate the fact that as soon as her father turns to drink she seems to give up on him by sleeping with Wesley rather than helping her father.

I also hated the fact that she ditches her friends and instead goes to Wesley’s house just because she needs to escape. What makes it even worse is that she doesn’t understand why her best friend is annoyed with her. Instead of apologising to her so called best mate she calls her snotty cheerleader, I mean seriously? This was just one of the reasons why I struggled to sympathise with Bianca.

However I really did like the secondary characters; Jess and Casey, and I especially liked reading about how they all met (and can we just take a moment to appreciate the fact that we have a cheerleader who is not completely horrible for once)? I only wish that they had played a bigger part in the book…

Truthfully I didn’t enjoy this book mainly because I didn’t particularly like or sympathise with the main character with Bianca, who was cynical, judgemental and a feminist (which in this instance means that she has given up on boys because she had her heart broken by one).

Overall I would give this book 3/5, I think the author had a good idea and message about not letting labels define us, however I think that Bianca’s character let the story down for me.

 

Leave a Reply

