Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

Hey everyone sorry for the late update, but here is the review of the week and this week it is ‘Radio Silence’ by Alice Oseman. When I started the book I was afraid that I wasn’t going to like it because I had previously started Solitaire by Alice Oseman and I never get round to finishing it, but for me Radio Silence was absolutely brilliant and I was fearing the end of the book!

The main character is Frances, who is head girl and she plans to Cambridge University. Honestly I wasn’t expecting to like her and for the first few chapters I didn’t particularly like her, because all she did was study which seemed a boring life to lead. However when she meets Aled her whole life is turned upside down and she undergoes massive character development. All the characters are very complex and they all have their own flaws, I loved all the characters; especially Aled.

I also really liked the fact that the book is very diverse the characters are Frances is half British and half Ethiopian and Daniel is Korean.

Something I especially liked about the book is that it is one of the few YA contemporaries that has the absence of romance, there is romance but it isn’t central to the plot unlike so many YA book. This book is more about friendship and family love. This is just one of the reasons why this books stands out to me out of all the YA contemporaries.

This book also managed to avoid another one of my pet peeves of YA contemporaries; the absence of a parent, why are parents barely mentioned in YA contemporaries? I loved the relationship between Frances and her mother.

Another great thing about this book is the message: do what you want to do, not what someone else what’s you to do, do what’s right for you. After all what’s the point of doing something you don’t enjoy?

Overall I think Alice Oseman captured what being a teenager is all about, and I could relate to Frances on so many levels including creating fan art and spending a ridiculous amount of time on Tumblr!

I’d recommend this for young adults over sixteen, although this is partly because University plays a big part in the book so 17-18 year olds were probably be able to relate to the main characters more. Overall I’d give this book a 5/5 stars since I fell in love with the characters and Universe City.

And that’s all from me for today, goodbye and see you Friday for the character spotlight post!

Leave a Reply

