Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.

Ever since my parents got me an iPad mini for Christmas I have been reading more and more books on my iPad, so when I saw that Uglies was £1.99 in the iBooks store I simply couldn’t resist buying it, despite the large amount of books on my to-read list.

I have a small obsession when it comes to dystopian novels. Currently, I have read all sorts of dystopian novels from the likes of the classic 1984 to the Hunger Games and the Selection series. However all the dystopian societies the one I’m most afraid of becoming a reality is the Uglies society.

Unlike the Hunger Games where the Capitol hosts an annual Hunger Games where kids are forced to kill each other. In this series society is dominated by how you look and everyone is brainwashed into thinking their ugly until they turn sixteen and have an operation to make them look pretty. For me, this reality is scarier than the Hunger Games universe purely because people are already having operations to make them look ‘pretty’ now, so who knows how far people will go to look pretty in the future…

The main protagonist is fifteen soon to be sixteen year old Tally Youngblood, who is eagerly awaiting her sixteenth birthday when she can become a ‘pretty’. I enjoyed the plot but one thing that I didn’t enjoy was the insta-love between Tally and David. It was way too sudden for my liking, especially when David wanted to tell Tally everything despite not knowing anything about her…
This novel is a typical dystopian novel, it features a sixteen year old female protagonist who discovers that the society she lives in isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. However if you like dystopian novels and the common features don’t annoy you too much then you’ll like this book.

One good thing about this book was the character development Tally went through throughout the book. In the beginning of the book I disliked Tally because like everyone else in society she is brainwashed into thinking she’s ugly. However throughout the novel during her journey she starts forming her own opinions which make her more likeable as a character.

Overall I would give this novel 4/5 it had a lot of good aspects but I felt this book was letdown by the insta-love between Tally and David (although thankfully it wasn’t as bad as the Jewel). I would’ve preferred it if Tally and David remained friends in this novel before starting a relationship…

Also, can I have my own hover board please?

Leave a Reply

