Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Hey everyone, so the next book I decided to review was Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell which is a World Book Day novella. So for everyone who has no idea what World Book Day is, then basically it is when authors write novellas to sell to everyone for £1 or for free if you have a World book day token. If you want any more information just Google it because quite honestly that was an awful explanation, anyway I’m pretty sure that no matter where you’re from you can buy it online for £1 or some equivalent.

Over the past few months Rainbow Rowell has quickly become one of my favourite authors and when I heard that she was writing a short novella for world book day I simply had to get it. Sadly, my attempts to bribe my sister to give me her world book token failed but this didn’t stop me from paying a grand total of paying £1 to get her latest novella.

Kindred Spirits is a small fifty page novella and it features the eighteen-year old protagonist Elena as she stands in line waiting for the new Star Wars film; however she is not expecting to be in the last in a line of only three people.

One of the reasons why I picked up this book other than it was about Rainbow Rowell is that it is about Star Wars, Elena is a huge Star Wars film (like me!) and her mum says she looks like a twelve year so I found it easy to identify with her.

Another thing I enjoyed about the novella was the Star Wars related puns which made me laugh (although they were very cringe-worthy) like the force awakens and the Force asleepens!

Also the ending is brilliant, and made me laugh at loud (however I won’t spoil it for you!) All in all this was a hilarious read and I’d recommend it to anyone (even those who haven’t seen Star Wars- maybe they will get inspired to watch Star Wars)!

All in all, this novella was short and sweet just like any other world book day book, and I have a feeling that I will be spending a lot of time convincing my uni friends to read this novella. This book is simply too good to keep to myself! Can we just get a whole novel about Gabe and Elena now please? Maybe even a cameo from Troy?

“Everybody likes everything these days the whole world is nerd” –Kindred Spirits.

Leave a Reply

