Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green, David Levithan

There are three different categories of books on my shelf: the books which I have finished and loved, the books which I haven’t got round to reading and the books which I started but never finished. For a long time Will Grayson, Will Grayson falls into the third category, I started reading it when I was on holiday (actually I read the majority of it) but when I came back from holiday I stopped reading it. The reason why still remains a mystery to me.

First of all it is co-written (is that even a word?) by John Green and David Levithan. So far I’ve read nearly all of John Green’s books (apart from an Abundance of Katherine’s which is still on my shelf, another book that falls into the third category). But I haven’t read any of David Levithan’s books before ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’.

The story is about two boys both called Will Grayson who unexpectedly meet in Chicago. First of all this is quite cool, have you imagined what it’s like to meet someone with the same name as you? I remember in school there were two girls with the same name in my form group which caused a lot of confusion during reg.

Normally I don’t really like it when books are split into two parts of view because I enjoy identifying with the one character, but this book along with Eleanor and Park has changed my mind. I enjoyed reading about the two different Will’s and how their lives are connected after an unexpected meeting. I enjoyed reading both perspectives and the different problems that they both face during the book.

One thing I loved about this book was Tiny Cooper, he is ultimately the link between the two Will’s and I love his friendship between him and Will Grayson. Also I like how this book has a gay characters who isn’t a cliché or a stereotype (other Will Grayson).

I did like the fact that David Levithan wrote half the book because otherwise I wouldn’t have enjoyed this book as much, since some of John Green’s part reminds me of his other works including his characters (i.e the nerdy guy and smart girls). So reading David Levithan’s books was a breath of fresh air.

One thing that annoyed me in the book was that David Levithan doesn’t use capitalization when writing as Will Grayson (i.e. the Will who was friends with Maura). However after reading interview with Green and Levithan at the back of the book (which is actually quite interesting). He uses lowercase letters because he’s a lowercase person and that’s how sees himself which I think is pretty good reasoning, and shows how Levithan has gotten into Will’s mind when writing the book.

The following extract is taken from the blurb; Will Grayson, meet Will Grayson. One cold night in the unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers cross paths. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, culminating in heroic turns-of-heart and the most epic musical ever to grace the high school stage.

To summarise, read this book if you like John Green, David Levithan or YA fiction, and who wouldn’t a best friend like Tiny Cooper?

Also have you seen the cover with the two fingerprints on it? I swear I didn’t buy the book just because of the cover… I would rate this book 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

