Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Hey everyone, and this week for my review of the week I will be reviewing Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen. First off, I would like to mention that I love Sarah Dessen books (or at least the one’s I have read) and Along for the Ride would probably be my second favourite after Just Listen.

If you are looking for the perfect book to read during a lazy summer at the beach then you’ve found the book; Auden the main character is spending the summer with her father, step mother and step-sister and the story follows her summer as she prepares for college (or University).

The only problem I had with this book was the plot; the plot followed the same cookie cutter mould as all of Sarah Dessen’s books. The girl meets a boy, they fall in love, something happens and the girl pushes the boy away and each book finishes with the girl and the boy reuniting.

The main character is Auden whom I liked despite her social incompetence, what I liked about her is that Sarah Dessen made her more likeable by giving her flaws i.e. Auden is quick to make judgements on others and she has a tendency to push people away. Side note: I seem to prefer characters whose flaws are clearly defined since that makes them more relatable.

One thing that I really enjoyed about this book was even though I didn’t particularly like Auden or her parents at the beginning of the novel, however by the end of the novel I really liked Auden as a character due to how her character develops over the course of the book.

Of course as with any Sarah Dessen book the highlight of this book is the characters; even if you read the book and you don’t particularly like Auden there’s bound to be another character you do like, for me this was the characterisations of Maggie and Heidi.

My favourite character was Heidi; Auden’s step-mother, Heidi has just given birth to Thisbe; Auden’s stepsister yet she still tries her best to make sure that Auden gets to spend some quality time with her dad.

Another character I liked was Maggie; whilst she may seem like a typical girly girl at first (Auden is quick to judge based off the office of the shop) we slowly learn that there is more to a person than just by the way they look. She is smart like Auden, only Auden chooses not to see this when they first meet once again illustrating how Auden is quick to judge.

Also another reason why I love reading Sarah Dessen’s books is that they are all set in the same universe, i.e. in Along for the Ride Jason makes an appearance (he is Macy’s old boyfriend from ‘The truth about Forever’) so it’s quite fun to find links between all the different books.

Overall I would give this book 4/5 stars, due to the wonderful characterizations, however I would mark it down one star due to the repetitive formula that is used in most of Sarah Dessen’s books

Leave a Reply

