The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Hello everyone! Hope you have all had a great week, and to make your week even better here’s another weekly review. This week I’m going to be reviewing ‘The Jewel’ by Amy Ewing.

The Jewel is the first in yet another YA dystopian trilogy, don’t get me wrong; I love dystopian novels but lately to me they’ve been a bit like marmite; I either seem to love them or hate them, and sadly for me The Jewel for me fell into the latter category.

I bought this book on iBooks, and despite the fact that I didn’t have a physical copy of the book I still felt drawn to the beautiful cover that reminded me of The Selection series by Keira Cass (to a casual observer you could easily mistake the Jewel as another book in the Selection series). Anyway, despite the lovely cover before reading it I was partly worried that it would be a bit too similar to the Selection series judging by the similar covers.

The novel started off very well; the main character is Violet (who has violet eyes a fact that we are constantly reminded of throughout the book) and she is going to lose her identity when she is sold at the Auction.

In this dystopian world, the rich can’t have kids, so they auction off surrogates to carry their children, the surrogates also have magic powers such as helping the baby grow and changing what the baby looks like. I couldn’t help but be intrigued by this dystopian world as we follow Violet through the auction, where she has her own stylists (whom I’d probably like if he didn’t remind me so much of Cinna from the Hunger Games).

It was only after Violet has been bought and she lives with the Duchess that I began to lose interest in the book. First of all a good portion of the book is made up of Violet describing her dresses and other people’s dresses and secondly for the first half of the book Violet doesn’t seem to do anything; all she does is wander around the house doing whatever she likes.

Another thing that made this YA dystopian novel stand out to me was that for the first half of the book there was no love interest for the first half of the novel. However my problem with the Jewel was that when the love interest was introduced Violet instantly fell in love with him, and he was all she would think about which kind of made me dislike Violet even more. If there is a love interest then I only enjoy the relationship if they build a relationship before confessing their love straight away.

Something that annoyed me was that at the beginning I had lots of questions about the dystopian world such as why couldn’t the rich have kids, why did Violet and her friends have magic powers? And throughout the book I was asking more and more questions, the annoying thing? At the end of the book, I had loads of questions and no answers…

However the book does improve by the end of the novel and there is finally some action, however it finishes on a cliff hanger which partly wants me to read the second novel to see if it is any improvement on the first…

Rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

