Avalon High by Meg Cabot

Hello everyone, my name is Kathryn (if you didn’t already know that from my welcome post. Anyway, welcome to my new blog, where I upload weekly reviews (and post over cool stuff). Hopefully you’ll enjoy the posts and whatnot and will read the book recommendations on this blog.

Anyway onto the review… There’s nearly always a book that you turn to when things get tough (or when your flatmates are being particularly noisy the night before an exam) and for me that book is Avalon High by Meg Cabot.

Growing up, I always had a particular fondness for Meg Cabot books such as The Princess Diaries and The Mediator series, although one of my all-time favourites by her was Avalon High. In a nutshell the plot is basically what if King Arthur was reincarnated as a High School teenager, which I think is pretty cool plot. Anyway here’s the blurb from Good Reads.

To newcomer Ellie, Avalon High seems like a typical American high school, complete with jocks, nerds, cheerleaders, and even the obligatory senior class president, quarterback, and all-around good guy. But it doesn’t take Ellie long to suspect that something weird is going on beneath the glossy surface of this tranquil hall of learning. As she pieces together the meaning of this unfolding drama, she begins to recognize some haunting Arthurian echoes, causing her to worry that she has become just a pawn in mythic history. 

However like Meg Cabot’s other characters the main character Elle seems to be a bit too similar to her other characters for my liking (such as Mia) especially when it came to how much she was thinking about Will this just reminded me of the Michael/Mia relationship. Considering that we get told that she’s ‘practical’ she does seem to think about him a lot…

I liked the characters, especially Ellie and I don’t really blame her for wanting to stay in the pool all day, I mean who wouldn’t? Although it was a little cliché about the new girl catching the attention of the popular quarterback who has a cheerleader girlfriend.

However the fact that it was a modern retelling made up for the cliché, I loved the parallels between the story and the Arthurian legend, I only wish it was longer so that we could’ve had more of the Arthurian Legends.

It’s also a nice novel to reread and realise all the bits of foreshadowing that you missed for first time around. I would probably give then novel 4/5 stars, because even though it is cleverly written I felt like apart from Ellie and Will the other characters weren’t fleshed out enough and some characters were just stereotypes i.e. Jennifer. It would’ve been nice if we saw a bit more of Lance and Jen in the novel.

Last of all, there is an adaptation of the film, it’s a Disney Channel adaptation and all I can remember is that a lot of things are different in the film i.e. Ellie is called Allie, which makes no sense at all… But I would definitely recommend to read the book, it is a very fun and light heartened YA retelling of the legends of King Arthur.

Interested? Read more here

Buy the book here (Amazon)

 

 

Leave a Reply

